Dr. Constance Ashton Myers, the principle investigator of the NEH grant who created this unprecedented collection of oral interviews, enlisted the help of twenty-six women including historians, social workers, and journalists who interviewed hundreds of people during the 3-day conference in November, 1977. To understand the success of this project in context of the larger event, it’s important to know the names of the women who made this collection possible and encourage further study. Names and titles below reflect their positions in 1977.

Ms. Kathy J. Carter (Social/Case Worker)
Division of Children’s and Youth Services, Medical College of Georgia

Dr. Jeanne Marie Col (Assistant Professor)
Graduate School of Public Affairs, State University of New York at Albany

Dr. Mollie Camp Davis (History Professor)
Chair, Department of History, Queens College, Charlotte, North Carolina

Ms. Amelia Fry (Research Associate)
Regional Oral History Office, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley, California

Dr. Lyn Goldfarb (Director)
Oral History Program, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Dr. June Hahner (Associate Professor)
Latin American Studies, Department of History, State University of New York at Albany
Albany, New York

Dr. Alfredteen Harrison (Coordinator of Historic Preservation)
Jackson State University, Jackson, Mississippi

Dr. Marie Heyda (Associate Professor)
Department of History, Aquinas College, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Ms. Pamela Jacklin (Affirmative Action Officer)
Washington State University, Pullman, Washington

Dr. Charlotte M. Kinch (Oral History Consultant)
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Ms. Constance L. Kite (Commissioner)
Governor’s Commission on the Status of Women, Montpelier, Vermont

Dr. Jay Kleinberg (Assistant Professor)
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee

Ms. Lydia Kleiner (Research Associate)
Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Dr. Ann J. Lane (Research Associate)
Institute for Independent Study, Radcliffe College, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Dr. Johnye E. Mathews (Director)
Oral History Office, University of Arkansas, Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Constance Ashton Myers (Principal Investigator)
NEH GRANT – IWY Oral History Project, Department of History, University of South Carolina, Aiken, South Carolina

Ms. Rachael E. Myers (News Staff Reporter)
WIS Radio, Columbia, South Carolina

Dr. Elaine M. Paul (Academic Advisor)
Comprehensive Manpower Program, Aiken Technical College, Aiken, South Carolina

Ms. Laurel Shackelford (Staff Writer)
The Louisville Times, Louisville, Kentucky

Dr. Jacqueline D. St. John (Associate Professor)
Department of History, University of Nebraska, Omaha, Nebraska

Dr. Margaret Strobel (Director)
Women’s Studies, Department of History, University of California, Los Angeles, California

Dr. Athena Theodore (Professor of Sociology)
Simmons College, Boston, MA

Dr. Veronica Tiller (Professor of Native American Studies)
Department of History, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah

Dr. Betty Miller Unterberger (Professor of History)
Texas A & M University, College Station, Texas

Dr. Adade Wheeler (Professor of History)
College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, Illinois

Dr. Joan Hoff Wilson (Professor of History)
Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona